The Best Dog Beds for the Car
Every bed sold for a vehicle is photographed from above, and the half that matters faces down. Four ranked on the base - and one point of order first, because a bed in a car is a comfort product that is routinely bought as a safety one.
The verdict
Buy the Ruffwear Highlands Pad. It is the only bed in this field whose base is a specification rather than an adjective — 600D recycled polyester with a tacky TPE backing, which is the waterproof layer and the non-slip layer in one — and at 1.05 lb folded to 14 x 6 in it stays in the vehicle rather than being carried in and out. Its one real flaw is that Ruffwear says hand wash, which for a muddy dog is a genuine cost. For occasional trips the Chuckit! Travel Pillow does the same job for about a third of the money and tells you almost nothing about itself. For a dedicated SUV cargo area, the Duckygoo cargo bed is the only thing here that is a bed and a liner at once. For a back seat, the FURTIME mat is the only one cut to the right shape at 54 in across. One point of order before any of that: a bed is not a restraint. No dog bed of any kind appears on the Center for Pet Safety’s certified list, and a loose dog on a soft bed in a moving car is a loose dog. The bed goes behind a barrier, or under a harnessed dog, or in a crate.
Quick picks
The short answer, ranked and scored against our published durability rubric. Where a manufacturer does not publish a spec, we say so rather than estimating it.
| # | Photo | Product | What the base actually is | Durability | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() | Ruffwear Highlands Dog Pad (Large)A cargo floor or a tailgate — the one here that folds small enough to live in the car |
| 65/100 | $69.99 · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() | Chuckit! Travel Pillow Dog Bed (39 x 30)Occasional trips and motel floors, at a third of the price of the best pad here |
| 53/100 | $29.99 · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() | Duckygoo Orthopedic SUV Cargo Bed (Large, 33 x 35)A dedicated SUV cargo area — the bed and the liner in one piece |
| 48/100 | $94.99 · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() | FURTIME Backseat Pet Bed Mat (54 x 24.8)A back seat with an extender platform, where a cargo-shaped pad does not fit |
| 43/100 | $39.99 · Amazon |
Tap any row to jump to the full review. Specs are the manufacturer's own published figures; where a maker does not publish one we say "not published" rather than estimating it. Prices are pulled live from Amazon as of October 31, 2026; where we have no verified live price we show none rather than a stale number. #ad — how our links work.
First, the thing a car bed does not do
The search that brings most people here is ambiguous in a way that matters. “Dog bed for car” sits in the same cluster as “dog seat cover and bed”, and a good share of the people typing it are trying to solve a travel problem that a bed does not solve. So we will say it once, plainly, before any ranking: a bed is a comfort product. It restrains nothing.
We are strict about certification claims across this whole hub, and the position here is simple to check: no dog bed appears on the Center for Pet Safety’s certified list.The one product sold under the word “bed” that carries a certification is the Sleepypod Mobile Pet Bed, and reading its certificate tells you why it is not an exception — it is an enclosed carrier, 5-star certified, and tested at 15 lb. Certification is issued per product and per dog weight, a point we make at length on the dog car seat roundup, and a 15 lb certificate says nothing whatsoever about your 70 lb retriever.
That does not make a car bed a bad purchase. It makes it a purchase that belongs alongside a restraint rather than instead of one. In practice there are three places a bed belongs, and all three keep the restraint intact:
- In the cargo area behind a barrier. The barrier is doing the containment; the bed is doing the insulation and the grip. This is the best combination available to most people, and the barrier field is ranked on the car barrier roundup.
- Under a dog in a certified harness.The tether does the work; the bed makes three hours tolerable. The certified harness list — a short one — is on the crash-tested harness roundup.
- Inside a crate. At which point you want a crate pad rather than a car bed, and the chew-warranty picture for those is a different question, covered on the crate pad roundup. If the crate also travels, the water bowl becomes a mounting question rather than a bowl question, and the four mounts worth knowing about are on the crate-mounted bowl roundup.
What decides a car bed, in order
Every bed in this category is photographed from above, and the surface that decides whether it works faces the other way. A bed on a vehicle floor is subject to two forces a bed on a bedroom floor never meets — lateral acceleration on every corner, and liquid with nowhere to go. Both act on the base. So:
- Does the base grip? A cargo floor is either a plastic load liner or a carpeted tray, and an unbacked bed on either behaves like a sledge. A bed that slides is worse than no bed, because the dog ends up braced against it instead of lying on it. Only two products here claim a non-slip base, and only one specifies what the non-slip layer is made from.
- Is the base waterproof, or merely resistant? These are different claims and makers use them loosely. Water-resistant means the liquid gets through more slowly. On a bed that will take a wet dog, a sick dog or a spilled bowl, that difference ends up in your carpet.
- How does it actually get washed? This is the criterion that moves a bed up or down a whole rank in practice, and the best-specified product here loses most on it. A bed that needs hand washing gets washed when there is time, which for a muddy weekly walk is never.
- Does it fold, and to what? A car bed that lives in the car is used. One that has to be fetched is not. Only one maker here publishes a folded dimension.
- What is published at all. Fill material, thickness, fabric weight, warranty. In this field the spread between the best and worst documented product is enormous, and it does not track price nearly as closely as you would expect.
The base is the specification
Ruffwear is the only brand here that treats the underside as a component. The Highlands Pad publishes a 600D polyester base with a tacky TPE backing— TPE being the rubbery thermoplastic that does the gripping — and Ruffwear describes the result as a non-slip waterproof base, a single layer doing both jobs. Over it sits 150D polyester suede with a nonfluorinated DWR, and between them 120 g of recycled polyester insulation plus PE closed-cell foamat 1 in of loft. That is four published figures for a product most competitors describe as “durable and water resistant”.
Compare that with the rest of the field and the gap is not subtle. The Duckygoo claims a waterproof coating and a non-slip backing but names neither material. The FURTIME claims non-slip and nothing else at all — no fill, no thickness, no fabric weight. The Chuckit! does not claim a non-slip base in the first place, and the only construction description we could find for it is a single retailer’s line about a poly-suede top over a ripstop bottom.
The practical reading: on a plastic cargo liner, buy the Highlands or the Duckygoo. The Chuckit! is a fine bed on a carpeted cargo tray or a motel floor, where friction is not the problem, and the wrong bed on a slick one.
“Easy to clean”, and what the maker actually says
This is the most useful thing on the page for anyone about to spend seventy dollars. The Amazon listing for the Highlands Pad describes it as “easy to clean”. Ruffwear’s own product page says hand wash, mild detergent, air dry. Both statements can be true — a DWR-finished suede does sponge off easily — but only one of them is a care instruction, and it is the one the manufacturer wrote.
We have raised this pattern across the site and it is worth naming again here: listing copy and maker copy are different sources with different incentives, and where they disagree we report the maker. If your dog gets into the back of the car genuinely filthy most weeks, the machine-washable options matter more than the specification sheet does, and that is a legitimate reason to rank the Duckygoo or the Chuckit! above the Ruffwear for your use while the rubric still ranks the Ruffwear first overall.
The same caution applies to the word “orthopedic”, which the Duckygoo listing uses. It is an unregulated marketing term and it carries no meaning without a foam density figure — which is not published here, exactly as it is not published across most of the bed market. We set the full argument out on the orthopedic bed roundup, and nothing about putting the bed in a car changes it.
The picks, ranked
1. Ruffwear Highlands Dog Pad (Large)
Durability score 65/100Best for: A cargo floor or a tailgate — the one here that folds small enough to live in the car

The best-specified travel pad in the category and the one we would buy, with the caveat that Ruffwear wants you to wash it by hand.
- Top
- 150D polyester suede, 50% recycled, with nonfluorinated DWR (Ruffwear)
- Base
- 600D polyester, 100% recycled, with tacky TPE backing; Ruffwear calls it a non-slip waterproof base (Ruffwear)
- Insulation
- 120 g post-consumer recycled polyester plus PE closed-cell foam (Ruffwear)
- Loft
- 1 in / 2.5 cm, both sizes (Ruffwear)
- Size (Large)
- 26.8 in W x 43.3 in L flat; 14 in x 6 in folded (Ruffwear)
- Weight (Large)
- 1.05 lb (Ruffwear)
- Care
- Hand wash, mild detergent, air dry (Ruffwear)
- Warranty
- Defects in materials and craftsmanship, no stated duration; chewing, normal wear and alterations excluded (Ruffwear)
Pros
- The only bed here whose base is specified rather than described: 600D recycled polyester with a tacky TPE backing, which is both the waterproof layer and the non-slip layer in one
- 1.05 lb and folds to 14 x 6 in, so it lives in the vehicle permanently instead of being carried in and forgotten
- Ruffwear publishes a figure for every layer — denier top and bottom, insulation weight, loft, flat and folded dimensions, weight. Nothing else on this page is documented to a tenth of that standard
- 1 in of loft over closed-cell foam is genuine insulation from a cold steel load floor, which is most of the job in a cargo area
Cons
- Hand wash, mild detergent, air dry — Ruffwear's own care instruction, and the Amazon listing's 'easy to clean' is doing some work. For a bed that will take mud weekly this is the biggest single drawback on the page
- 1 in of loft is a pad, not a mattress. A senior dog with joint pain needs more than this between it and a hard floor
- Ruffwear's warranty states no duration at all and excludes chewing, which is the most likely way a car bed dies
- Roughly double the price of the cheapest thing here that does the same job on an occasional trip
How we assessed it: on published materials, hardware specs and construction — not long-term chew-tested. We say so because it is true, and because a claim we cannot back is worth nothing to you.
#ad Price as of October 31, 2026; Amazon prices change often, so check before you buy. How our links work.
2. Chuckit! Travel Pillow Dog Bed (39 x 30)
Durability score 53/100Best for: Occasional trips and motel floors, at a third of the price of the best pad here

The sensible cheap one, and the honest reason it is cheap is that nobody will tell you what is inside it.
- Size
- 39 in L x 30 in W (Amazon listing)
- Sold for
- Dogs 20-100 lb (Amazon listing)
- Water resistance
- Water resistant, explicitly not waterproof (retailer Q&A)
- Construction
- Poly-suede top over a ripstop base (one retailer's description)
- Thickness
- Not published by the maker; retailer listings give 3 in and 4 in
- Weight
- Not published by the maker; retailer listings give 1 lb and 2.6 lb
- Care
- Machine washable, with a loop for air-drying (retailer listings)
- Warranty
- Not published
Pros
- A third of the Highlands' price for the same job on a trip you take a few times a year
- Machine washable, and the hanging loop for air-drying is the detail that gets a soaked car bed dry instead of mildewed
- 39 x 30 in is wider than the Highlands Large, so for a dog that sprawls sideways it is the bigger sleeping surface
Cons
- We could find no maker spec page for this bed, and the retailer figures contradict each other: 3 in against 4 in of thickness, 1 lb against 2.6 lb of weight. Two of those four numbers are wrong and nothing published tells you which
- Water resistant and explicitly not waterproof, which on a load floor means the liquid still gets through — it is just slower about it
- No non-slip backing is claimed anywhere, and on a plastic cargo liner an unbacked bed slides
- No published warranty of any kind
How we assessed it: on published materials, hardware specs and construction — not long-term chew-tested. We say so because it is true, and because a claim we cannot back is worth nothing to you.
#ad Price as of October 31, 2026; Amazon prices change often, so check before you buy. How our links work.
3. Duckygoo Orthopedic SUV Cargo Bed (Large, 33 x 35)
Durability score 48/100Best for: A dedicated SUV cargo area — the bed and the liner in one piece

The right format for a cargo area and the thinnest paperwork on the page. Buy it for the shape, not for the spec sheet.
- Size
- 33 x 35 in (Large, Amazon listing)
- Top
- Suede (Amazon listing); no denier or fabric weight published
- Fill
- Memory foam. Thickness is NOT stated for this size; the maker's Medium listing states 2 in of foam with 6 in side bolsters
- Waterproofing
- Waterproof-coated cover over a non-slip backing (Amazon listing)
- Extras
- Bumper flap and storage pocket (stated on the Medium listing)
- Care
- Machine washable (Amazon listing)
- Warranty
- Not published
Pros
- The only product here that does the liner's job and the bed's job at the same time, which is the actual shape of the problem in an SUV cargo area
- A waterproof-coated cover over a non-slip backing is the correct pair of properties for a load floor, and both are claimed explicitly
- Machine washable, which the best-specified bed on this page is not
Cons
- Duckygoo publishes no product page we could find, so every figure above comes from the live Amazon listing rather than from a maker's specification
- The foam thickness is stated on the Medium listing and not on the Large we resolved, so the number most buyers care about is missing for the size most buyers want
- 'Orthopedic' is an unregulated word and means nothing without a foam density figure, which is not published — the same problem we set out on the orthopedic bed roundup
- No warranty of any kind published
How we assessed it: on published materials, hardware specs and construction — not long-term chew-tested. We say so because it is true, and because a claim we cannot back is worth nothing to you.
#ad Price as of October 31, 2026; Amazon prices change often, so check before you buy. How our links work.
4. FURTIME Backseat Pet Bed Mat (54 x 24.8)
Durability score 43/100Best for: A back seat with an extender platform, where a cargo-shaped pad does not fit

The only thing here shaped for a back seat, bought almost entirely on format because there is no published specification to buy it on.
- Size
- 54 in x 24.8 in (Amazon listing)
- Cover
- Removable and machine washable (Amazon listing)
- Base
- Non-slip (Amazon listing)
- Fill
- Not published
- Waterproofing
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
Pros
- 54 in spans a full bench, which is the dimension that decides whether a back-seat bed works at all — most beds sold for cars are drawn for a cargo area and leave a gap at each door
- A removable, machine-washable cover is the right design for the one surface in a vehicle that reliably gets muddy
- Sized for a back-seat extender platform, which is the setup this shape is actually for
Cons
- FURTIME publishes nothing at all. No fill material, no thickness, no fabric weight, no waterproof claim and no warranty — the specs above are the entire published record
- A bed on the back seat is a comfort product and nothing more. It does not restrain the dog, and on the back seat restraint is the question that matters
- No waterproof layer is claimed, so what goes through the cover reaches upholstery rather than a rubber load floor
How we assessed it: on published materials, hardware specs and construction — not long-term chew-tested. We say so because it is true, and because a claim we cannot back is worth nothing to you.
#ad Price as of October 31, 2026; Amazon prices change often, so check before you buy. How our links work.
Which one for your vehicle
The ranking above is the rubric’s answer. The shape of your vehicle narrows it faster:
- SUV or wagon cargo area, dog behind a barrier. The Highlands Pad if you want the best-made thing and will hand wash it; the Duckygooif you would rather have one object that is bed and liner together and can go in a machine. Do not buy both — a bed on top of a liner is two slippery surfaces stacked.
- Back seat. The FURTIME, because at 54 in it is the only one here that spans a bench. Note what it is not doing: nothing on a back seat restrains a dog, so pair it with a tether from a certified harness.
- Truck back seat or jump seats.Measure first. The extended-cab bench is shallower than an SUV’s and most car beds overhang it; the fitment question for trucks specifically is worked through on the truck seat cover roundup.
- Occasional trips, campsites, motels. The Chuckit!, every time. It is three times cheaper than the Highlands and the gap in specification matters far less to a bed used six times a year.
Bed, liner, cover, or all three?
These four products overlap with two categories we have already ranked, and the overlap is where most money gets wasted. The clean way to separate them is by what each one is protecting.
A cargo linerprotects the vehicle. It is waterproof, it has raised sides and a bumper flap, and it is miserable to lie on — the field is on the cargo liner roundup, and whether one will fit your car at all is the subject of will a dog cargo liner fit my car. A seat cover does the same job on upholstery, ranked on the seat cover roundup. A bed protects the dog from the floor, which is a different problem and is why a liner alone leaves a dog lying on cold ribbed plastic.
The combination most people actually want is a liner plus a bed on top of it, or a single product that does both — which is the entire argument for the Duckygoo. What you should not do is buy a bed instead of a restraint, and the comparison that settles the restraint question for most owners is dog car harness against crate.
The bottom line
Buy the Ruffwear Highlands Pad if you want the best object: it is the only one here with a specified base, a published loft, a published folded size and a weight, and it is the only one light enough to live in the car permanently. Buy the Chuckit! if the car bed is an occasional thing and you would rather spend the difference on fuel. Buy the Duckygoo if your dog rides in a cargo area every day and you want one washable object instead of two. Buy the FURTIME only for a back seat, and only with your eyes open about how little its maker publishes.
And whichever you buy, put the restraint in first. A bed makes a long drive comfortable. It does nothing at all in a collision, and the certified list is public, short and easy to check.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best dog bed for the car?
The Ruffwear Highlands Pad. It is the only bed in this field whose base is specified rather than described - 600D recycled polyester with a tacky TPE backing, which is the waterproof layer and the non-slip layer in one - and Ruffwear publishes a figure for every other layer too: a 150D polyester suede top with DWR, 120 g of recycled polyester insulation over PE closed-cell foam, 1 in of loft, and a 1.05 lb Large that folds to 14 x 6 in. The honest drawback is the care instruction: Ruffwear says hand wash, mild detergent, air dry, which is a real cost for a bed that will take mud.
Is a dog bed safe to use in a car?
It is safe as a comfort layer and it is not a restraint, and conflating the two is the mistake this page exists to stop. No dog bed of any kind appears on the Center for Pet Safety's certified list. The only product sold as a 'bed' that carries a certification is the Sleepypod Mobile Pet Bed, which is an enclosed carrier certified at 15 lb - a figure that says nothing about a larger dog. Use a bed in the cargo area behind a barrier, under a dog wearing a certified harness, or inside a crate, so the restraint is still doing its job.
What should I look for in a dog bed for the car?
The base, not the top. A vehicle applies two things a bedroom floor does not - lateral force on every corner, and liquid with nowhere to drain - and both act on the underside. Look for a stated non-slip backing, because an unbacked bed on a plastic cargo liner slides and a dog braces against a sliding bed rather than lying on it. Then check whether the waterproof claim is 'waterproof' or 'water resistant', which are different claims, and read the maker's actual washing instruction rather than the listing's 'easy to clean'.
Can I put a dog bed on the back seat?
Yes, with two caveats. The first is shape: most beds sold for cars are cut for a cargo area and leave a gap at each door on a bench, which is why the 54 in FURTIME mat is the pick here - it spans the bench. The second is the one that matters more: a bed on the back seat does not restrain the dog. If the dog rides on the back seat it should be tethered with a certified harness, and the bed sits under it.
Do I need a cargo liner and a dog bed, or just one?
They do different jobs, which is why people end up buying both. A liner protects the vehicle - waterproof, raised sides, bumper flap - and is unpleasant to lie on. A bed protects the dog from a cold, ribbed plastic floor and usually protects nothing else. The sensible combinations are a liner with a bed on top, or a single product that does both, which is the entire argument for the Duckygoo cargo bed. What does not work is two slippery surfaces stacked: if you put an unbacked bed on a smooth liner, you have built a sledge.
Is the Chuckit! Travel Pillow waterproof?
No. Retailer listings state it is water resistant and explicitly not waterproof, which on a load floor means liquid still reaches the bottom, just more slowly. It is worth knowing how little else is published about this bed: we could find no maker spec page for it, and retailer listings disagree with each other on thickness (3 in against 4 in) and on weight (1 lb against 2.6 lb). It is still a sensible buy for occasional trips at roughly a third of the Highlands' price - you are simply buying it on format rather than on specification.
Does 'orthopedic' mean anything on a car bed?
Not on its own. The word is unregulated and it carries no meaning without a foam density figure, which almost no bed maker publishes - including the Duckygoo cargo bed, whose listing uses the word. There is a further wrinkle specific to this product: the foam thickness is stated on the maker's Medium listing (2 in, with 6 in bolsters) and is not stated on the Large, so the figure most buyers would want is missing for the size most buyers choose. We report that rather than carrying the Medium's number across.
How do I wash a car dog bed?
Check the maker's instruction rather than the listing's adjective, because in this category they disagree. The best-specified bed here, the Ruffwear Highlands Pad, is sold on Amazon as 'easy to clean' while Ruffwear's own page says hand wash, mild detergent, air dry. The Duckygoo and the FURTIME both state machine washable, and the Chuckit! has a hanging loop for air-drying, which is the detail that gets a soaked bed dry rather than mildewed. If your dog arrives genuinely filthy most weeks, the machine-washable option is the better buy for you even though it scores lower.
Sources
Every spec on this page traces to one of these. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, we say “not published” rather than estimating it.
- Ruffwear — Highlands Pad product page: the 150D polyester suede top with nonfluorinated DWR, the 600D polyester base with tacky TPE backing described as a non-slip waterproof base, 120 g recycled polyester plus PE closed-cell foam insulation, 1 in loft, the flat and folded dimensions, the 1.05 lb Large weight, and the hand-wash / air-dry care instruction
- Ruffwear — warranty terms: defects in materials and craftsmanship, with no stated duration; chewing, normal wear and alterations excluded
- Center for Pet Safety — the CPS Certified list, the only place a crash-certification claim can be checked. No dog bed of any kind appears on it
- CPS certificate — Sleepypod Mobile Pet Bed: 5 Star, tested August 2024 at 15 lbs, protocol CPS-001-016.02. The only product sold as a 'bed' with a crash certification, and it is a carrier tested at 15 lb
- Chewy — retailer listing for the Chuckit! Travel Pillow Dog Bed: 30 x 39 in, approximately 3 in thick, and the explicit statement that it is water-resistant but not waterproof. Other retailer listings give 4 in and a different weight, which is the disagreement the page reports
- Ray Allen Manufacturing — retailer listing for the Chuckit! Travel Dog Bed, the only description of its construction we could find: poly-suede top, ripstop bottom





